Chapter News

HobartMGA - 'Hobsy' Smith wins Last Gasp, Potter CML

Troy “Hobbsy” Smith has battled through his first year in the MGA. He started the season with 6 penalty shots thanks to some “optimistic” personal scores entered on his behalf by Chris White. Hobbsy still managed to tie for first (lost “playoff”) at the Am-Am, then pushed through some mid-field finishes while he slowly shed shots before coming into the Last Gasp with 2 shot penalty. That, and a small field, was enough as he capped his debut season with a debut win.

Not Port Arthur, or Orford, TAS, AU – The 2018 Hobart Last Gasp was all set for another end of season trip – this time to Port Arthur ­­– until the week before the event when we actually decided to check in the course. Their one big comp of the year meant we were on the move, so we booked in for last year’s venue Orford. By Friday night we had a grand total of five medios registered, so even Orford was dumped and we decided to play locally. That got us another two to sign up, and so it was, Sunday morning at Richmond GC where we hadn’t played for four years.

The day had been billed as the Chapter Money List playoff between Dale Potter and Dean Lowe. Potter was always going to DQ on the short Richmond GC, but with Lowe one of the many unavailable it didn’t matter. The Last Gasp became a CML victory lap for Potter as he confirmed his DQ with a 76 on the par 66 for his fifth Gross Award of the season.

That left the rest of the field to get their hands on the skeletal dust collector, and with the talent spread on show it was only going to be between two – mature-age rookie Troy “Hobbsy” Smith and chapter leader James Teirney. Hobbsy had spent the season to date knocking off penalty shots probably unfairly given to him when Chris White entered them in for him initially. Way to look after your mates, Pidgey. Hobbsy came into the Last Gasp with 2 penalty shots and, as expected, was battling with Teirney at the top of the leader board at the turn. Playing in the final (second) group, a tally after 14 holes had Hobbsy and Teirney equal with penalties. It was shot for shot. Of course, Teirney went to water as soon as that came out and Hobbsy cruised to his debut win. He finished with 90 to win by two shots over Teirney on 92. Winning the Last Gasp means he doesn’t cop the back tees penalty for next event (next year) and he managed to drop both his remaining penalty shots too! Look out for him in 2019.

Teirney did commiserate himself with the Long Drive. Potter had put out a good carrot on the first nine, but come the second Teirney managed to put one past. Potter then managed to put his past that, but off in the rough going for distance – and he made sure you knew.

Nearest the Pin was another award for Hobbsy. The only one to get on the 130m-but- blind green over both nines, he then managed to 4-putt it #mediocredentials .



Small field for Last Gasp meant everyone won a prize! Well, everyone except Bruce Johnson. #HBAlastgasp18

A post shared by Hobart Mediocre Golf (@hobartmga) on

Chris “Donald Trump on the site” White and Potter shared the Meltdown award, but it was a low one with only a +2. That’s the lowest meltdown since Andrew McConnon was equalled the chapter low of +1 way back at the 2014 FORE! Championship. That didn’t stop White from snapping another club though – dropping hints for the Mrs he want a new set for Christmas. White was in contention at the turn, but with others melting up his effort put him in third overall with 96.

Paul Johnson started with a mirdie on the first and declared how good he was feeling today. He didn’t feel good after the second though, and so his game continued as he had 53 on the front (par 33 only, remember) and 103 overall for fourth spot. The replaying of the first green declaration and his near middle of the pack finish gave P.Johnson the Most Mediocre award – his third for the season!

The Key to the Red Tee is another no consequence award at the Last Gasp. Well, no benefit award. Leon “Splinter” Lockwood won his battle with perennial red key-er Bruce Johnson to come last with 105 infront of B.Johnson by a shot. A real bookended season by Splinter as hse won the Am-Am and then his Red Key here at the Last Gasp. B.Johnson the only medio on the day without an award – deserved after he didn’t sign up till the morning of and stuffed up my mini cheques.

The small field provided plenty opportunity to pick up an award in the chapter handicap prizes. Dale Potter shot his handicap which was plenty enough and took home a six pack. Hobbsy no good with his big cheque meant Teirney was second best, way behind Potter, for free entry next tourney next year, and Bruce Johnson squeaked in for the sleeve of balls. Well, there you go he did win a prize.

Not too much movement from handicaps after the Last Gasp. Except for our champ, Hobbsy. He’s won here by two shots while carrying two penalty shots – and now dropped them both. Second event in a row that’s happened after Dean Lowe (absent here) dropped two penalties after winning the Douche Bag. Should be another close year next year.

Event Results

1.Troy Smith90$0.49
2.James Teirney92$0.33
3.Terry Crews96$0.27
4.Paul Johnson103$0.24
5.Bruce Johnson104$0.22
6.leon lockwood105$0.19
17.Dale PotterDQ$0.00